Home > Grace, Jesus, Love, New Covenant, Prayer > Your Right To God’s Unmerited Favor

Your Right To God’s Unmerited Favor

May 29, 2011

I don’t think the issue is whether or not we want to receive God’s goodness and favor.  I think all of us will agree that His favor is something we would love to have.  Wanting His favor is not the problem, it is having the qualifications that get us in to trouble.  I also think that we can agree that if His favor is on our side that there is nothing that can stand in our way.

But as we have said before, if His favor is unmerited, how can we qualify for it?  If we cannot earn, deserve or merit it, how can we be confident that we have His unmerited favor?

Lets look at the following questions:
Why can you expect good to happen to you?

Why can you enjoy God’s unmerited favor?

Why can you ask God for big things?

What do we have to do to qualify for His favor?

Beloved, your answers are all found on the Mount of Golgotha, the place of the skull.  It’s the place where the sinless Man became sin, so that you and I can become the righteousness of God in Him.  His righteousness is your right to God’s unmerited favor.  You qualify for His favor because you have been made the righteousness of God through Jesus sacrifice on the cross!

I have said this in past but as a family if we ever doubt or feel down, we say the following, “I am greatly blessed, highly favored and deeply loved because I am the righteousness of God in Christ.”  If I have to say it a hundred times a day I will do it until I believe it.  I say it because it is the truth.

You can do this because He paid for it on the cross.  You can succeed at anything because we are in Him and He is in us.

For He made Him who knew no sin to be sin for us, that we might become the righteousness of God in Him.   —   2 Corinthians 5:21

Your righteousness in Christ is the sure foundation on which you can build your expectations to receive God’s unmerited favor. 

Categories: Grace, Jesus, Love, New Covenant, Prayer
