Home > Grace, Jesus, Love, New Covenant > Grace When You Least Deserve It

Grace When You Least Deserve It

May 28, 2011

I do not want to get into many details but I have made many mistakes in my life and have still been blessed greatly.  I have been blessed when I have deserved it least.  In the past I have accounted this to luck but as I become more wise I am understanding that it is grace.  Grace is most greatly expressed when it is least deserved.  Grace is given in “spite of”, not because you have done something right.

I have learned that grace is not giving us license to sin or have God bail us out, rather I have learned the incredible love of God that even when I fail and deserve it least, God still pours favor out in my life.  God’s favor is available for me at all times and many times it comes to me when I least deserve it but I fully believe that favor comes even more when you are willing to step in His presence.

God’s favor is there for all people at all times and mostly it just has to be received.  The more conscious you are that you are the righteousness of God in Christ, the more conscious that you are favored because of His goodness and that you are always right and not-guilty in God’s sight, the more you are favored simply because you are resting in His presence and promises.

It is the times when the enemy disqualifies you that you need to rise up and remind him that Jesus is the one who qualifies you no matter how you act or think.  That is the true fight of faith!  The fight of faith is to believe that you are made righteous by faith and not by works.

There are only two types of righteousness in the bible.

  1. A righteousness that comes from your obedience and from your trying to earn your way to attain it.
  2. A righteousness that comes from faith in Jesus Christ

 Only one of these has a solid, unshakable foundation.  One is built upon you and your ability to keep the law, while the other is built upon the Rock of all ages – Jesus Christ.  One can only give you the occasional confidence and the other gives you confidence ALL THE TIME.  Which one do you want to depend on?  The wavering righteousness that is dependent on you or the rock-solid righteousness of Christ?

You can ask God for big things and reach out to the blessed destiny that He has for you and your family.  You are righteous and blessed when you least deserve it, not because of you but because He loves you.  His righteousness is our right to God’s unmerited favor!  Don’t let any voice of accusation tell you otherwise!

…not having my own righteousness, which is from the law, but that which is through faith in Christ, the righteousness which is from God by faith;   —   Philippians 3:9

The more righteousness-conscious you are, the more you will experience God’s unmerited favor.

Categories: Grace, Jesus, Love, New Covenant
