Home > Grace, Jesus, Love, New Covenant > What’s Your Response To The Voice Of Accusation?

What’s Your Response To The Voice Of Accusation?

May 26, 2011

Right believing always leads to right living.

The above is a statement I say all the time.  I talk about it in faith and I definitely talk about it here.  It is true because believing right is the only way you will live right.  It is important to know that you are the righteousness of God in Christ because then you start believing right.  When you believe right you can get through adversity more easily.

Have you heard the enemy say the following?

  • Who do you think you are?
  • You call yourself a Christian when you thought that, did that or spoke to that person that way?
  • Look at how easily you fail, how can God be happy with you?

 If we are establishing that this is not true then we have to have a response when these thoughts enter our brains.  So what is the response?  Do we say, “yep, you are right” or “no, that is not true because I am the righteousness of God in Christ.”

Many people will think when good things happen (God’s grace) that they do not deserve it or when they have sinned that they do not deserve good things to happen.  This is simply not true!  A person who thinks they do not deserve things will feel shamed and guilty, they will get defensive and take out their frustration on others.  This leads to the problems and feelings all around us.

However what if someone responded to accusations and problems in the following manner?

A person thinks the following, “Yeah, you are right.  I don’t deserve to have God’s favor at all because I have sinned and fall short.  But you know what?  I am not looking at what I deserve, I am looking at what Jesus deserves.  Even right now, Jesus, I thank You that You see me perfectly righteous.  Because of the cross and Your perfect sacrifice, I can expect God’s grace in everything I do.  Every one of my shortcomings, is covered by Your righteousness.  I can expect good not because I am good, but because You are good!  Amen!”

See the difference?  It takes us away from our performance and rather puts it on Jesus finished performance.   When you depend on the grace of God it does not matter what accusation or trouble comes your way because you are covered by the blood of Christ and because He is good, you will prosper and be blessed.  When you respond in this way you will have the strength to handle any situation.

When you put the emphasis on how He is good and what He does on your behalf then you never have to worry how you perform because you are constantly covered by His blood.  When you realize you are never condemned then even when you screw up, God will say that He will bless you in spite of your failures not because you have done well.

Believe right and you will not only live right but you will think right.

In righteousness you shall be established; you shall be far from oppression, for you shall not fear; and from terror, for it shall not come near you.   —   Isaiah 54:14

Right believing always leads to right living.

Categories: Grace, Jesus, Love, New Covenant
