Home > Grace, Jesus, Love, New Covenant > Desire God’s Unmerited Favour, Not Favouritism

Desire God’s Unmerited Favour, Not Favouritism

May 22, 2011

Ok so lets look at the difference between favoritism and favour.  What is the difference?

Favoritism is:
First of all favouritism is a worldly man made thing.  Favoritism stinks of self-effort.  You rely on favouritism for promotion and you have to rely on brown-nosing, politics, manipulation, backstabbing and all kinds of compromises.  You have to “play the game” to have human’s favor you.  Think you are above that?  I am not!!!  I unfortunately have played favouritism with people based on how much they kissed up or what they did for me.  I have had others treat me differently based on if I was politically correct or brown-nosed.  It does not make me a bad person but I suffer from the temptation to be involved in favouritism as much as the next person.  The key is I realize now that although I struggle with favoritism I would rather have Favour from God.

Favour is:
God’s favour is completely based on Jesus’ merit, and we received it through His finished work on the cross.  We did nothing to deserve His favour, it is completely unmerited.

If I am a parent, I have favour over my children and not favoritism.  There is something deep down inside a parent that does good to their child just because they love them and nothing at all to do with what their children do.  Look at children who are in trouble, who generally is right by their side?  Yep the parents, because it is not based on what the child does wrong but based on the fact that the parents love their children unconditionally.  So if we have that kind of love for our children how much greater is the favor in our life from our Heavenly Father?

It is tempting to want to live in favouritism but it just is not worth it.  Favouritism may bring success in this world but it will compromise your character.  If you realize that God is the source of your blessings you never will rely on favouritism because you know the Lord will provide what you need and his provisions are simply based on His goodness.  I want His goodness in my life, not the worlds goodness.  When I rely on favouritism the success is temporary but when the Lord blesses me it surpasses anything I knew I wanted or needed.

Favouritism may get you ahead in the eyes of the world but it is the Lord’s favor that sets you up for recognition, promotion and increase.

“And the patriarchs, becoming envious, sold Joseph into Egypt.  But God was with him and delivered him out of all his troubles, and gave him favor and wisdom in the presence of Pharaoh, king of Egypt; and he made him governor over Egypt and all his house.   —   Acts 7:9-10

You do not have to depend on favouritism to keep opportunities open for yourself when you have God’s unmerited favor!

Categories: Grace, Jesus, Love, New Covenant
